FHSAA Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Announced

GAINESVILLE, Fla. - The Florida High School Athletic Association is proud to announce the eight-member FHSAA Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

The 27th class to be inducted, the FHSAA Hall of Fame celebrates more than 90 years of interscholastic competition featuring some of the most accomplished student-athletes, coaches, administrators and officials from the state of Florida.

“We are thrilled to honor the careers of these eight exceptional people who have spent their lives dedicated to enriching education-based athletics in the state of Florida,” FHSAA incoming Executive Director George Tomyn said. “They are an oustanding illustration of greatness and we are proud to call them FHSAA Hall of Famers.”

A special induction ceremony will take place in Gainesville on Sunday, September 17. The newest class of FHSAA Hall of Fame inductees is (in alphabetical order):

Vassar Carlton, a student-athlete considered one of the most dynamic athletes in Brevard County history. The former Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court lettered in football, basketball and baseball from 1926-31 at Cocoa High School.

Ernie Chatman, a legendary coach who found success in five sports over five decades in Hernando County. The 1997 FHSAA State Championship winner was named the St. Petersburg Times Coach of the Year 19 times.

David Jarrett, an official from the East Coach Officials Association in Palm Beach County who has earned a whopping 24 state final assignments in the past 25 years. The former NFHS Florida High School Football Official of the Year has worked 12 state championship games since moving to Florida in 1985.

Bill Kramer, a football coach who led Naples High to a pair of state championships, including the first by any school in Southwest Florida. Kramer has also coached several state champions in track & field.

Michael Parks, an official from Crestview who has umpired in the FHSAA State Series for baseball from 1996-present. The leader of the Miracle Strip Officials Association has also been selected to work four football state championship games.

Mike Pittman, the first coach in Florida history to lead a school to four-consecutive football state championships. Pittman led Suwanee High to an overall record of 92-37 from 1985-96 after the Bulldogs had finished the previous 14 seasons under .500.

Mark Schusterman, a softball coach who has won six state championships, made 11 Final Four appearances, brought home 13 regional titles and captured 29 district crowns. Schusterman was instrumental in helping the state of Florida transition from slowpitch to fastpitch softball.

Brian Wheatley, a four-time state championship coach in volleyball who has led Venice High to 16-consecutive 20-win seasons. Wheatley has had 17 former student-athletes become coaches following their playing days.