This is site is retiring 9/30/2020 please visit our new site FHSAA.COM

This website will be retired by September 30th. For the most up-to-date information moving forward, please visit

Congratulations to the 2011-12 FHSAA state and section coaches of the year

The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) recently announced its Florida coaches of the year from 2011-2012, as well as the Section 3 coaches of the year. Congratulations to the following recipients:

2011-2012 NFHS Section 3 Coaches of the Year
Coach School Sport
Roy Harrison Plant (Tampa) Girls Cross Country
Angie Patrick Merritt Island Volleyball
Mike Pickett St. Johns Country Day (Orange Park) Girls Soccer
Forrest Wheeler West Nassau (Callahan) Wrestling
2011-2012 Florida Coaches of the Year
Coach School Sport
Terri Amy Sebastian River (Sebastian) Girls Basketball
Doug Butler Holy Trinity (Melbourne) Boys Cross Country
Teresa Cunningham Winter Park Girls Tennis
Robert Dupler Lecanto Softball
Reggie Kohn Orlando Christian Prep Boys Baskeball
Richard LaBounty Pensacola Catholic Baseball
Paul Maechtle Southeast (Bradenton) Football
Michael Potempa Montverde Boys Soccer
Matt Smith Sunlake (Land O'Lakes) Boys Weightlifting
Duchane Thomas Boyd Anderson (Lauderdale Lakes) Girls Track & Field
Ray Atkins Palm Beach Central (Wellington) Bowling
Austin Bowe Seminole Ridge (Loxahatchee) Flag Football