FHSAA announces coaching staff for All-Century football team

GAINESVILLE – The Florida High School Athletic Association, as part of its ongoing celebration of “100 Years of Florida High School Football,” is pleased to announce the 12-member coaching staff for the FHSAA All-Century Football Team.

The All-Century Team, which consists of the top 33 players by position of the first 100 years as selected by a panel of high school sports experts, will be announced Wednesday afternoon. The FHSAA will honor the All-Century Team players and coaches Friday night at halftime of the Class 5A state championship game in Orlando.

During the ceremony, one of the 12 members of the All-Century coaching staff will be named the Coach of the Century.

“Florida prides itself on playing the best high school football and producing the best high school football players in the nation,” said Jack Watford, FHSAA Associate Executive Director. “That is because this state is fortunate to have the best high school coaches in the nation as well.

“The FHSAA, as part of its celebration of 100 years of high school football, is pleased to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of these 12 coaches who have devoted their lives to molding boys into men and have risen to the top of their profession.”

Here is the All-Century Team coaching staff presented in alphabetical order.

Bill Castle (active). Castle has compiled a 308-74 record in 32 years as head coach of Lakeland High School, which has never had a losing season under his leadership. His Dreadnaughts have won six state championships, including three consecutive state titles in 2004, 2005 and 2006; a state record 53 consecutive victories (the streak was ended this season); and two mythical national championships in 2005 and 2006. Castle was inducted into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame in 2002.

Gene Cox (retired). Cox won 313 games and two state championships in his 38-year career, which included stints at Suwannee (Live Oak), Jefferson County (Monticello), Leon (Tallahassee) and Aucilla Christian (Monticello). The bulk of his career was at Leon (from 1963-1990), where we won 238 games against just 68 losses and 4 ties. He is a member of the 1991 charter class of the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

Walt Frazier (active). The coach at Miami Carol City for the past 26 seasons, Frazier has directed the Chiefs to three state championships (1996, 1997, 2003). His career record of 212-107, which includes three seasons at Miami Northwestern, ranks third on Miami-Dade’s all-time coaching list. Over the 1996 and 1997 seasons, the Chiefs won 29 straight games, which is still tied for Miami-Dade’s all-time longest streak.

Joe Kinnan (active). Kinnan, who coached Manatee (Bradenton) from 1981 to 2000, returned to the sidelines as coach of the Hurricanes in 2005 after a four-year battle with cancer, and immediately restored the program to district championship prominence. His 23-season record as a head coach, including his first two seasons at Cypress Lake (Fort Myers), is 220-62. He has coached the Hurricanes to four state championships (1983, 1985, 1989 and 1992).

Nick Kotys (deceased). The legendary Coral Gables High School coach built one of the most dominating programs in state history, winning FHSAA state titles in 1963, 1964, 1967 and 1968, and two mythical state championships before the playoff system was begun. Kotys also won four mythical national titles in 1956, 1964, 1967 and 1968. He retired in 1971 after 20 seasons as head coach of the Cavaliers with a 160-33-9 record. Kotys died in 2005 at the age of 92.

Carl Madison (retired). Madison coached Tate (Cantonment) to the 1980 state championship, and Pine Forest (Pensacola) to back-to-back state titles in 1987 and 1988, with the 1988 team being declared national champions by USA Today. In 24 seasons as a head coach at five different Florida high schools, Madison accumulated a record of 261-97-6. His overall career record, including stints at three out-of-state schools, is 326-129-7 over 34 seasons, good for second on Florida’s all-time coaching victories list.

Gerald Odom (retired). Odom’s Merritt Island High School teams made four appearances in the FHSAA Finals, winning two state titles in 1978 and 1979. He retired following the 2004 season after 33 years as a head coach at Merritt Island, New Smyrna Beach and Cocoa high schools with a career record of 268-85-2.

Nathaniel "Traz" Powell (deceased). Powell, who was the first black athlete to score a touchdown in the Orange Bowl stadium, went on to become one of the top coaches in the pre-integration Florida Interscholastic Athletic Association. He compiled a 167-37-3 career record over 21 years from 1949 through 1969 as head coach at Miami’s Carver and Mays high schools. Powell died in 1980. The football stadium at Miami-Dade College, which is the home to many of Miami-Dade’s top high school teams, including Miami Northwestern and Booker T. Washington, was renamed in his honor in 1988.

Robby Pruitt (active). The youngest coach ever to reach 100 wins and be inducted into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame (Class of 2000), Pruitt won seven state championships in just 16 years – four at University Christian (Jacksonville) in 1987, 1989, 1991 and 1992 and three straight at Union County (Lake Butler) in 1994, 1995 and 1996. His record when he left the state after the 1999 season was 167-30, including a 31-6 playoff record. Pruitt has continued his success in Georgia, going 81-16-1 at Fitzgerald and Warner Robins high schools. His current overall career record is 248-46-1 in 24 seasons.

Corky Rogers (active). The winningest coaching in state history, Rogers has a 361-68-1 career record over 37 seasons – at Robert E. Lee (Jacksonville) from 1971-88 and at Bolles (Jacksonville) from 1989 through the present. He has coached Bolles to seven state championships in 1990, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006. Although the Bulldogs lost in the region finals this year, they finished the regular season 10-0, giving Rogers’ his ninth perfect regular season. He is a 2005 inductee into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

George Smith (active). Smith has amassed a 318-65 career record in 31 seasons, all at St. Thomas Aquinas High School in Fort Lauderdale, which is good for third on the all-time Florida coaching victories list. His Raiders have won three state championships (1992, 1997, 1999) in 10 FHSAA Finals appearances. They will be making an 11th finals appearance (fourth straight) this Friday night in the Class 5A state championship game. Smith is a 2005 inductee into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

Al Werneke (deceased). Werneke was the first coach to win back-to-back FHSAA championships at two different schools – in 1971 and 1972 at Glades Central (Belle Glade) and in 1982 and 1983 at Titusville. In 24 seasons at five different Florida high schools he compiled a 187-69-2 record. His overall career record, including nine seasons in Illinois, was 257-93-5. Werneke died in 1997 and was posthumously inducted into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame in 2003.

About the FHSAA
The Florida High School Athletic Association is the governing body for interscholastic athletic competition in Florida. It has a membership of more than 750 middle, junior and senior high schools.