This website will be retired by September 30th. For the most up-to-date information moving forward, please visit

Nicole Haislett

Inducted 2015

Nicole Haislett, a graduate of Lakewood High School in St. Petersburg, won four state titles in just two years, with six FHSAA state championship wins overall. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

When Haislett was just 16 and a junior in high school, she won the 50-, 100- and 200-meter events at the U.S. Open Swimming Championships.  The following year at the U.S. Short Course Swimming National Championships she won the national title in the 200-yard freestyle.

At the University of Florida, Haislett had an unprecedented collegiate career.  From 1991-1994 she received 28 All-American honors, was undefeated in SEC competition, was the SEC Female Swimmer of the Year all four years and was chosen as the SEC Female Athlete of the Year both her junior and senior years.  During this time, Haislett won NCAA national titles in the 200-yard freestyle four consecutive years, the 200-yard individual medley in 1993, and the 500-yard freestyle in 1994.  She was also a member of the Gators' NCAA championship relay teams in the 4x100-yard freestyle in 1993 and the 4x100-yard medley relay in 1994.

In 1992, Haislett qualified for four events at the Summer Olympics in Barcelona, Spain, and returned home with three gold medals.  She finished fourth in the women's 100-meter freestyle, won the 200-meter freestyle event, and won the 4x100-meter freestyle relay with Jenny Thompson, Dara Torres and Angel Martino, setting a new world record.  Next, Haislett swam the freestyle leg of the 4x100 meter relay to bring home the gold in her fourth and final event.

Haislett also had a stellar international career aside from the Olympics.  She was a 15-time U.S. National Champion, a five-time U.S. Open Champion, and earned a total of 28 medals in international competition prior to retiring from competition in 1995.

This Hall of Fame induction serves as Haislett's fourth.  She can also be found in the University of Florida Sports Hall of Fame (2004), the Florida Sports Hall of Fame (2005), and the Sports Club of Tampa Bay Hall of Fame (2009).