Joe Fenlon

Inducted 2019

Joe Fenlon was inducted into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame in 2019 after becoming the Tampa Bay area’s all-time winningest boys basketball coach as the head coach at Tampa Prep.

Born in Chicago, Fenlon arrived at Tampa Prep in 1983 as the head boys basketball coach. In the 36 seasons since, the University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse graduate has compiled nearly 800 career wins. In 2012, Fenlon led the Terrapins to their first state championship in boys basketball. He also coached in the state championship game four additional times and made nine appearances in the FHSAA Final Four. On the local level, Fenlon captured 18 district championships and nine-consecutive Bay Conference titles. Of the 18 district titles, 11 were consecutive.

Fenlon has mentored more than 40 former student-athletes who have gone on to play collegiate basketball. Two of which were on National Championship teams: Casey Sanders at Duke in 2001 and Andrew Kouwe with Syracuse in 2003. Of the 40, six of them eventually played professional basketball.

In his quest to improve the game statewide, Fenlon served as the director of boys basketball for the Florida Athletic Coaches Association, volunteered on the FHSAA Basketball Advisory Committee, was a district representative for the Florida Association of Basketball Coaches and was president of the Tampa Bay Basketball Coaches Association.  He was chosen as the Tampa Tribune Coach of the Decade in the 90s. He was chosen as the 1999 FHSAA Coach of the Year. Tampa Prep named the basketball court after him in 2010. He was USA Today National Runner-up for High School Coach of the Year in 2014. He was inducted into the Florida Association of Basketball Coaches "Court of Legends" in 2016. He was a Finalist for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association Basketball Coach of the Year in 2017. He was selected as Coach of the Year seven times by the Tampa Tribune and Tampa Bay Times. He has even donated his wealth of knowledge and information as a color commentator for the Florida High School Basketball State Championships.