20 schools recognized for exemplary sportsmanship during 2010-11 school year

GAINESVILLE – Twenty schools have been selected to receive the 2010-11 FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards in their respective classifications.

The final listing of award recipients is:

Class 6A

  • Section 2 – University (Orange City)
  • Section 4 – Palm Beach Gardens
  • Overall – Palm Beach Gardens

Class 5A

  • Section 1  – Ed White (Jacksonville)
  • Section 3 – Port Charlotte
  • Section 4 – Spanish River (Boca Raton)
  • Overall – Ed White

Class 4A

  • Section 1 –Westside (Jacksonville)
  • Section 2 – River Ridge (New Port Richey)
  • Section 3 – Fort Pierce Central
  • Section 4 – Dreyfoos (West Palm Beach)
  • Overall – River Ridge

Class 3A

  • Section 1  – Arnold (Panama City Beach)
  • Overall – Arnold

Class 2A

  • Section 1 – Freeport
  • Section 3  – Northside Christian (St. Petersburg)
  • Section 4 – Westminster Academy (Ft. Lauderdale)
  • Overall – Northside Christian

Class 1A

  • Section 1 – First Coast Christian (Jacksonville)
  • Section 2 – Lake Mary Prep
  • Section 3 – Canterbury (St. Petersburg)
  • Section 4  – FAU (Boca Raton)
  • Overall – FAU

Middle School

  • Section 1 – Yulee Middle School
  • Section 2 – Crystal River Middle School
  • Section 4  – St. Mark's (Fort Lauderdale)
  • Overall – St. Mark's

All 20 schools will be honored at school events in the fall at times and dates to be announced.

About the FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards
The FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards program was implemented during the 1990-91 school year by the Florida High School Athletic Association to honor those schools that exhibited exemplary sportsmanship during the regular season and FHSAA State Series. Each year the award is presented to one school in each classification whose total sports program best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship by its coaches, players and spectators. Nomination forms for this award are provided to each member school FHSAA representative and officials' association. Criteria for selection of the winners includes programs and activities implemented within the school and community to promote sportsmanship; number and type of unsportsmanlike ejections; number and type of exceptional sportsmanship reports; and source of the nomination. An anonymous selection committee of representatives from the sports community reviews all nominations and selects the winners. There may be one winner from each of the four sections in all seven classifications; the overall winner in each classification shall be chosen from the section winners. The section winners will each receive $500 and a commemorative plaque. The overall winners will each receive an additional $2,500 and a larger plaque. The award is named for FHSAA Commissioner Emeritus Fred E. Rozelle, who served as the Association’s Executive Secretary and Commissioner from 1980-1991.

About the FHSAA
The Florida High School Athletic Association is the governing body for interscholastic athletic competition in Florida. It has a membership of more than 770 middle, junior and senior high schools.

Seth Polansky
Media/Membership Specialist, FHSAA
(352) 372-9551 ext. 400
spolansky [at] fhsaa [dot] org