2011-12 FHSAA Student-Athlete Advisory Committee members selected

The FHSAA is pleased to announce the following students as members of the 2011-12 FHSAA Student-Athlete Advisory Committee:

Section 1 Representatives:

Jeread Bass, Hamilton County High School

Bryan LaCivita, St. Francis Catholic High School

Marci McElroy, Oak Hall School

Alex Merritt, Lincoln High School


Section 2 Representatives:

Amy Madison Daugherty, Trinity Preparatory School

Abby Hani, Lake Mary Preparatory School

Samuel Jones, Seven Rivers Christian School

Michael Manglardi, Lake Howell High School


Section 3 Representatives:

Chris Camacho, Lehigh Senior High School

Katie Carter, Tampa Preparatory School

Nicole McHenry, St. Lucie West Centennial High School

Cristopher (CJ) Price, Seacrest Country Day School


Section 4 Representatives:

Meredith Joy Adams, University School of Nova Southeastern University

David Goldstein, Ransom Everglades School

Sofia Gomez, Carrollton School of the Sacred Heart

Robert Steirn, Cypress Bay High School

According to FHSAA Policy 19.6.2, the committee is to be comprised of 16 students representing the state’s four sections.  Approximately 60 students from across the state were nominated in hopes of being selected as members of this committee.  The 16 student-athletes were chosen for their displays of leadership within their sport, school, and community.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee will provide a voice in the FHSAA governance structure to identify important issues and promote a positive image of the student-athlete in the state of Florida.

Although no specific date has been set, the first meeting of the 2011-12 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee will take place in the fall.

Congratulations to these 16 students as well as those nominated for being such great examples of Florida high school student-athletes!

For more information regarding the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, please contact Stacey McLeod (smcleod [at] fhsaa [dot] org).