11 schools recognized for exemplary sportsmanship during 2002-03 school year

GAINESVILLE – Eleven schools are recipients of the 2002-03 FHSAA Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards in their respective classifications.

Rutherford (Springfield) and Mitchell (New Port Richey) claimed overall state honors in Class 5A and Class 4A respectively. They were the only schools honored in those two classifications.

The following nine schools are recipients of sectional awards and, as such, are finalists for statewide honors in their respective classifications. There are no honorees in Class 6A.
• Class 3A – Bishop Moore (Orlando), DeSoto County (Arcadia) and LaBelle.
• Class 2A – Freeport and Clearwater Central Catholic.
• Class A – Oak Hall (Gainesville) and Shorecrest Prep (St. Petersburg).
• Middle schools – Roulhac Middle (Chipley) and Stewart Middle (Zephyrhills).

All 11 schools will be honored at the 13th annual FHSAA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Awards Banquet on Thursday, June 12 at the Wyndham Westshore Hotel in Tampa. The statewide winners in Classes 3A, 2A and A, as well as the middle school division, will be announced at the banquet.

The Florida High School Activities Association is the governing body for interscholastic athletic competition in Florida. It has a membership of 668 middle, junior and senior high schools.

Jack Watford
Director of Communications, FHSAA
(352) 372-9551 ext. 170
jwatford [at] fhsaa [dot] org